People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I agree with the statement "people who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers" to a greater extent than I disagree with it.

One of my reasons for taking this stand is because the logic used in this method of decision-making is really superfluous to the decision and doesn't help the decision-maker to make better decisions. Making a decision using emotions instead of logic first means that the person is only trying to justify the decision he has already made. He doesn't actually evaluate the decision in a better way. Hence, he is likely to focus only on the pros of the decisions and not the cons. Logic should be used to evaluate decisions and not simply to justify them. An analogy that fits with this is like a person who wishes to build a house, made of poor foundation, then attempting to later on modify the building above the ground. The beautiful house would be nothing but a facade, since the foundation would make it crumble at the end.

Also, making a decision involves several factors. emotions are only a part of this decision. Hence, if one makes decisions simply based on emotions, he ignores lots of other germane factors, some of which may even be more integral to the quality of the decision made than the emotions which were considered.

Furthermore, emotions can be quite fickle. Hence, decisions made on them will tend to be equally fickle. For example, a decision made in anger, even when justified with logic later on is tantamount to conducting a post-mortem investigation. It doesn't reverse the damage made

However, in some cases, this argument may not always hold. Some decisions can actually be driven by emotion. For example, a decision about love. Individuals don't necessary choose who to love by logic. Emotions decide that. However, one would have to later on use logic to justify furthering such a relationship.

Another case where this might not necessary be true is where the decision-maker actually evaluates the decision, instead of simply justifying it. That way, emotion may drive the initial consideration of that decision, but the decision is not truly made until the pros and cons have been properly weighed.

Despite these, allowing emotions to drive decision-making is likely to lead to sentimental and whimsical decisions. Hence, individuals who make decisions in this manner are usually poor decision-makers.

Therefore, i agree with the statement that people who make decisions based on emotion and justify decisions with logic afterwards are more likely than not, poor decision makers.