All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Consulting as a profession is a big field, with consultants in every industry for which businesses exist. The prompt states that if companies engaged in a lot more listening with their employees, consultants would be necessary. I disagree with this statement for two reasons.

Firtsly, consultants are specialists trained to solve problems and smooth out inefficiencies. Employees on the other hand, while they may be trained on the job, may lack the necessary requisite problem-spolving and critical thinking skills to enable efficient operation. For example, an engineer may be highly skilled at operating production equipment and machinery. However, he may not have the skills required to identify bottlenecks in the production process, especially if it falls outside of his specialisation. Hence, it is important for companies to employ the services of consultant who are solely trained for this purpose, and are able to give insight, as well as provide solution to the problems the company may face.

Also, when solving a problem, it is usually necessary to have an external insight into the problem. That is, a person isn't in the thick of the situation will be able to give an eagle-eye view of the entire situation and point out the inefficiencies that may be embroiled in it. An analogy of this is a person in a burning house. He will find it arduous to tell where the fire started from. However, a firefighter who isn't in the fire can more easily predict the origin of the fire. This is the same reason why consultants can better give insight into the origin, as well as provide solution to inefficiencies in a company's operational processes.

I understand there may be a contention that employees have a first-hand experience of the problems they face and are better positioned to give a solution to their own problems. However, this position assumes that employees are not given the opportunity to express themselves. If the position were true, then as companies in recent times have started to adopt flatter organisational structures and more open communication policies, we should have seen a fall in the patronage of these consultants' services. However, the use of external consultants has only continued to grow. Based on these points, I disagree with the statement that if companies were to spend more time listening to their employees, external consultants will be unnecessary.