A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

Every nation has the responsibility of education; developing its youth to respect the nation' s values and ethics. Thus it is important that the country chooses carefully how it develops the enlightenment of its citizens. The prompt encourages therefore that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. While I recognise that this position may have some advantages, I disagree that this should be implemented as a national policy for reasons I' ll explain below:

Firstly, I' d explain why one may lean towards this position. A nation may want to espouse equal development across its regions. Hence, the nation may be motivated to create a national curriculum that will ensure that same values and ideas are imparted all over the country. For example, it may be unfair to teach white supremacy in one aspect of the country while the other part of the country teaches equality and non-discrimination. If this approach is not taken, unequal development may occur. Whereby one region of the country is well-developed in one subject, say history, while the other lacks this knowledge.

Despite the point given above, I will champion the disagreement of the recommendation given above because a country cannot be uniform in every way. Take for example, a country as large and diverse as the United States of America. The states in the country are almost nations on their own, and skills and knowledge are not equally distributed. If a national curriculum is promulgated, and such constitution makes French language a compulsory aspect of high school education, some states will be able to find enough teachers, while others will be short of hands. French teachers may also not be willing to move the states where they are needed. As such, the unequal distribution of skills across a heterogenous country will pose a difficulty to the implementation of such a national curriculum. Thus, states should be allowed to create their curriculum that emphasises their own strengths and will give them comparative advantage.

Apart from the uneven distribution of resources that may be present across a nation, same may also happen within schools or states. Students have variety of interests, attitudes and talents. It is said that if you judge the ability of a fish on how well it can climb trees, it will live its life believing it is foolsih. If a national curriculum is imposed, then students be coerced into learning things that aren't useful to them until they enter college. And this recommendation would even be more disastrous to those students who decide not to pursue college education, especially when theyare unable t to acquire the skills needed for their specific career needs. Thus, nations have no business formulating policies that will force students to adhere to a curriculum that doesn't suit their career aspirations.

To conclude, while one may be inclined to think that a national curriculum will breed uniformity, there's no guarantee that uniformity may even be advantageous in the first place. Diversity is the spice of life. It is with these points that I disagree with the recommendation that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.