Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the

societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility

of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

your position, you should address both of the views presented

The social contract is a contract that an individual or organisation enters into when they decide to be a part of the society. This contract implies that there should be a symbiotic relationship between the society and the individual or corporation, that is, they should benefit each other. With this idea in mind, it is absurd to claim that corporations have no responsibility to the society beyond making money. This position is based on reasons which I will explain further below.

While the opposing side may hold that the only responsibility of the corporations is to make as much money as possible, I argue that this is an impossible position to hold because this cannot happen when the corporations do not show any form of responsibility to the environment within which it operates. For example, take an oil exploration company operating in a village, taking their oil, and destroying their environment. Yet, they show no concern to society; they do not employ staff from the village, they dump waste into their rivers and they destroy the soil. The society will definitely harbour acrimony for the organisation. A good example is the oil producing communities in Nigeria where members of the society go into crime, destroy the facilities, kidnap their staff, and consequently hamper the ability of these companies to "make as much money as possible". Hence, it is impossible for companies to maximise their money making potential when they are at odds with society and environment.

Also, it is important for corporations to show concern for society and environment because society is a stakeholder in its governance. Society provides customers, employees, land, capital and even suppliers which make up the immediate environment as well as the internal environment of the organisation. Thus, saying that the organisation has no responsibility to the environment is tantamount to saying that it has no responsibility towards itself, which is absurd to say the least.

Finally, the society makes up the context in which the organisation exists. The corporations do not exist in isolation of society. Hence the political, social, environmental and economic conditions of the society affects that of the organisation. For example, the richest companies in the world such Apple, Facebook and Google are all situated in the most industrialized society. In contrast, none of the top 100 companies in the world come from Africa, which is relatively less advanced. This shows that the context of society affects the extent of growth and financial prosperity which a corporation can experience. Thus, paying no attention to such a vital factor will spell doom for corporations.

In conclusion, while a company's only concern might be to maximise profit, this is impossible to do without showing responsibility to society because society is the context within which corporations exist, most stakeholders in corporations subsist within their environments and a company failing to show responsibility for environment will only be to its own detriment. Thus, corporations have responsibility to the societies and environments in which they exist.