The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of

video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at

Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains,

raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in

downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M.

rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than

five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for

offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our

other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to

decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain

how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The owner of Movies Galore appears to make a great case for reducing operating expenses by closing earlier in all Movies Galore stores as well as eliminating movies older than five years ago. On a closer look however, his recommendation his based on a faulty premise rife with unwarranted assumptions. To accept his recommendation, it is necessary for him to answer the following questions.

Firstly, do the customers majorly rent movies from Movies Galore because of the special bargains? While he made the point that Movies Galore is famous for its special bargains, it doesn't necessarily mean this is the major reason that customers patronize the store. Some may prefer Movies Galore because of its favorable distnace from their homes. It is also possible that most customers rent from the store because it has a great range of movies and provides the latest movies. In the event that either of these is the major catch for the customers, raising the price might be a viable way of increasing profits.

Also, do the customers in all nine Movies Galore shops behave the same way? The owner generalises that the changes that worked in downtown Marston will also work in all other stores. For example, it may be that customers in downtown Marston are mostly night workers and thus rent movies during the day while they are resting, while customers in the other stores rent movies at night. If the stores close by 6pm, this would greatly reduce sales and the changes will work against the store. Similarly, it may be that customers at the other stores prefer renting old movies. Removing movies older than five years ago from the stores will also have a negative effect on profits. If the owner is able to answer this question and proves that customers in all the stores watch movies at the same time and like movies less than five years old, it would become possible to implement this recommendation in those stores.

In addition to those questions, it is important for the owner to answer the question of whether the storage costs of movies from more than five years ago is a significant cost in all stores. For example, some stores may have a large storage facility, which they must pay for whether it is filled to the capacity or not. Similarly, some stores may also have mostly movies from less than five years ago. In either of these cases, reducing the stock of movies from more than five years ago will have no effect on operating expenses and the recommendation would be redundant.

Finally, the owner must answer this question: will the loss of sales from increasing prices outweigh the gains from increasing prices? It is quite possible that the reduction in demand for movies from Movies Galore will not lead to a reduction in revenue. For example, if the current average price of movies were 100 dollars, with an average of 500 movies rented in a day across all stores, and the price were increased to an avergage of 150 dollars per movie, leading to a fall in average number of movies rented per day to 400 movies, this will lead to an increase in revenue overall. Hence, the owner of Movies Galore must answer this question to prove that increasing prices is not a viable way of improving profit.

In conclusion, this recommendation is based on a faulty argument with a lot of questions begging to be answered. If the owner of the store can provide answers to questions on the similarity of the stores' cost structures, similarity of consumers' behaviours and effect of an increase in prices on demand, it becomes possible to evaluate his argument and consider his recommendation.