A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated/unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The movie producer suggests that funding for the movie should be increased by 10% if a quality product is to be achieved. He bases this suggestion on a few reasons, citing the reduction in cost efficiency as a result of the inexperienced manager and the expected increase in costs due to the expected greater hours which actors and unionised crew will work. This argument is however based on weak assumptions which if proven unwarranted, would completely discredit the usefulness of the suggestion. Some of these assumptions are explained in the paragraphs that follow.

Firstly, the writer assumes that actors and unionised crew must be paid per hour spent. However, he didn't conider the possibility that they may be paid a fixed monthly amount. Also, what if payments are made per project? In the case that this assumption doesn't hold up, the argument will be unnecessary and proven baseless.

Secondly, the movie producer assmes that the relatively inexprienced assistant producers are necessarily slower. However, being relatively inexperienced doesn't necessarily mean that they are slower in arranging things. Also, the writer assumes that they won't improve during this shooting. In the event that this assumption is unfounded, the assistant producers wouldn't necessarily constitute an increase in costs. The absence of an increase in cost will thus negate the need for any increase in funding and will render the argument redundant.

Finally, the movie producer assumes that the expected increase in cost outweighs the cost savings achieved by employing inexperienced staff by exactly 10% of the budget. What if the cost savings outweighs the cost of inefficiency, leading to a drop in overall costs? It is also possible that the increase in costs may occur, and will be greater than 10% of the current budget. In the former case, there would be no need to increase the budget, while in the latter case, the increase in budget would not be sufficient to create a quality product. In either case, the assumption represents an undoing to the argument that a 10% increase in funding will ensure a quality product, and the argument will be at best, specious.

In conclusion, as far these assumptions remain unsubstantiated, the argument holds no water. Hence, the movie producer needs to provide more evidence to bolster these assumptions. If enough evidence is provided, then it might become possible to consider and accept his suggestions that a 10% increase in fun