The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The business manager of the television station recommends that more time should be devoted to weather and local news in order to increase viewership and avoid losing advaertising revenues. He bases this recommendation on the fact that local businesses have cancelled their advertising contracts with the station and that customers have been complaining about the coverage of weather and local news. He thus, bases his argument on a number of faulty assumptions and must provide the following pieces of evidence to substantiate his position:

First, did the complaints from the viewers start before the time devoted to weather and local news reduced? It may be that most of the customer complaints have always been about the weather and local news even before the time allocated to it was reduced. It may also be that most of these complaints are directed at the quality of local and weather news delivered, and not necessarily the length of time devoted to it. Hence, to strenghten his argument, the business manager must provide evidence as to whether the complaints about the news coverage actually started after the time devoted to it was reduced.

Also, will the increase in time allocated to the weather and local news actually attract more customers? This argument assumes that the viewers are actually attracted to the station because of its weather and local news, while this may not be the case in reality. It is also possible that while there have been complaints about the coverage of weather and local news, viewership of the station has not reduced, but actually increased. Therefore, to strengthen his position, the business manager has to collect evidence as to whether viewers have actually stopped watching the station because of the attenuation of the time spent on weather and local news.

If the business manager is able to provide these various pieces of evidence, it will become possible to evaluate if any of the issues faced by the station is due to the increased time devoted to the national news and less time devoted to weather and local news. It will also be possible to analyse the possible effectiveness of this recommendation.