An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While this recommendation sounds plausible, the International development organization should answer the following questions to better predict if their recommendation will have the predicted results:

- Will the new breed of millet retain its other features with the increase in Vitamin A? This question must be answered because the success of the recommendation is dependent on the assumption that the people will accept the new breed of millet. However, this may not hold true if the millet changes in taste, texture or other features which makes it palatable to the people of Tagus. A change is the taste or feel of the new breed of millet might make the people reject this new breed of millet. Thus, to evaluate the success of this recommendation, the question on whether the features that make the people readily consume the current breed of millet will be retained in the new breed.

- Do the farmers have the expertise to grow this new type of millet?

The change in the breed of millet might also translate to a change in the farming practices required to maintain it. If the farmers do not know how to farm it, subsidies will not be enough to convince them to change to this type of millet.

- Do the people support and accept the legitimacy of the government?

If the people in the country are dissatisfied with the government, the government espousing this cause will only deter them from accepting the new breed of millet instead of encouraging them to accept it.

- How responsive are the people to change? People in rural areas and underdeveloped communities tend to view things associated with modern technology with skepticism. If the people are resistant to change, they may buck the government's attempts to encourage them to accept this new variety. Thus, the readiness of people to accept new technology will help evaluate the likelihood of success of the recommendation.

- Is the government the best party to promote the new type of millet? The government is just one political agent in the society. There are other parties who can champion the new variety of millet such as private organisations, charities, non-governmental organisations (NGOs), etc. The recommendation may not have the predicted result if the government is being asked to promote this type of millet while there are other stakeholders that can do it better.

- Will the subsidies cover for the additional cost?

In conclusion, while this recommendation may be successful, the questions discussed above need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result.