"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leadership is one of the important factors for the success of a nation, company or other industry. The claim suggests that a sense of cooperation is more important than competition for a society to train the leadership of its young generation. However, I totally agree with the statement based on two reasons.

First of all, cooperation is important for leadership because we need to work with our colleagues to complete a project. To be specific, in the complex reality, we need to consider our work in large scale and think thoroughly. In addition, we are not perfect human, people can discuss with each other for better solution. For example, a leader in a software developing team in a company cannot design and develop the code by their own. They need to break down the requirements from the user, and allocate to junior engineers to fulfill each function. In other words, if leaders cannot cooperate with their team members, they could not complete their work by themselves.

Furthermore, the cooperation across the industries can be beneficial from upstream to downstream. If the leader only compete with other companies, and it will lose a lot of chance to expand its market share. A British research demonstrates that, the more partnerships one company has, the more possibility of the company getting success in its industry. For instance, Amazon, a well-known online shopping website, cannot be success if it never cooperates with other companies. Amazon integrates the upstream supplies by showing their excellent products online. And once a customer buys a product from Amazon, the delivery of a product is well prepared as well. It is the cooperation between the leaders of online shopping website, the product supplies and the logistic company enhance the experience of shopping for customers. And this cooperation makes Amazon one of the biggest shopping website. That is to say, the cooperation between companies can bring better solution and create value to them.

To sum up, the success of leadership depends on the cooperation inside and outside of the organization. From above mentioned, a leader should cooperate well with colleagues in the organization and partners outside of the organization. Thus, I strongly agree with the statement that a sense of cooperation is more important than competition for the leadership.