There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts — especially at a great cost in money and jobs — to save endangered animal or plant species.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement contends that the society should not make extraordinary efforts on endangered species, due to its great cost. However, I strongly disagree with the statement based on two reasons.

First of all, the environment directly impacts our daily life, and the consciousness of maintaining a permanent environment is crucial to human being's life. Endangered species in biology has direct impact to the way we life and the way we work. For example, the extinction of polar bears implies that the ice is melting due to global warming, and once the ice on the earth has all melted, then our land will be much smaller. Furthermore, the harbor we rely heavily for import and export would be damaged, the city on the coast may disappear, and people will eventually lost their job. The extinction of animals surely will lead to the impact of people's job and daily life. That is the reason why I disagree with the statement.

Second, saving the endangered animals and plants can be great profit instead of great cost. In other words, investment in animals and plants can be a budget investment for our better future. Instead of treating it as an extra ordinary effort, we should appreciate our government’s plan of environment saving. For instance, from a British research, the effort of maintaining national park in UK, costed more than 3% of the tax from citizens. However, the benefit gained from national park may be much higher than the expense it costed. A successful national park can not only beneficiate to merely wild animals or forest, but the job in national park can also create many job positions in the field of ticket administration, environment protection and accommodation. Thus, maintaining national park can bring revenue for citizens.

In conclusion, while human being is the king of all creatures, saving endangered animal or plant species not only save the environment for our future children, but also create profit for our citizens. From the reasons mentioned above, I strongly disagree with the statement.