The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo states that the plan of stopping using the Endure manufacturing process for Dura-Sock production. However, I suggest that the following three specific evidences are needed to evaluate.

First of all, the customers think that the cost for patent need to be cut down. Since the customers may not be the experts of business administration, how dare they think the patented fee for law agency is a waste? It is a common sense that one of the advantages of a successful industry is to patent its own technology. The patented technology in a company can secure its competition to other rival. If above is true, then the original argument does not hold water.

Second, buying new Dura-Socks every three months does not imply that the durability of Dura-Socks is only three month. Customer behavior is complicated, hence the reasons of buying a product frequently may not be the product is easily damaged. Isn't it possible that a customer think the socks are in good quality, and he or she chooses the socks as Christmas presents for all of the relatives? Or maybe he or she recommends other friend to buy Dura-Socks and ask his or her friend to use his or her membership. If the above scenario is true, then the argument from vice president of marketing is absolutely weakened.

Last but not the last, the customers' opinion from northeastern United States cities can not represent all of the customers for Dura-Sock, Inc. Admittedly, the customers opinion from largest market share may be important. However, what is the original data? The distribution of customers' market share may also be key factor to make conclusion. For example, if the largest market share is ten percent, and the other market share can be 9 percent or less. But the remaining market share which is not the largest may consist of ninety percent of the entire market share. The finding should be analyzed with more statistic method before making any suggestion.

The memo from vice present of marketing at Dura-Sock has flawed perspective due to several unwarranted evidences, the evidences are needed to be provided before the memo is conducted.