The following is a memo from the business manager of a TV station:

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Advertising contracts work on the priciple of mutual benefits. The advertising company pays for an expected increase in the patronage of its goods and services. Hence, it is logical that the advertising company would consider a media station that has a large viewer base or an advertising means that would ensure a farther reach for its products and services.

Could it be that the TV station was the only station where weather and local news could be obtained and a switch to national news does not sits well with the viewers. It is normal that people who live in provincial and rural areas would want to be kept abreast of happenings around them rather than national news. As such, the change in content could be deleterious to its viewer base. Hence the loss in viewer base consequently deters companies from advertising their products and services on the TV station. More evidence needs to be gathered on performance on TV stations with similar themed news during the mentioned period.

More evidence needs to be garnered on how companies that withdrew their contracts now advertise their products. Perhaps there has been a shift from TV station and the traditional means of advertising to newer means of advertising such as social medias or OOH advertising on mobile boards which would have a farther reach and possibly cheaper than that of a TV station. Hence the loss in advertising contract could be as a result of migration to other means of advertising as against TV station. Hence, the TV station might need to consider adopting a strong social media presence to attract revenues from this mode of advertising.

The manager of the TV station needs evidence on the real reason for the withdrawal of the advertising contract. Is the loss in the withdrawal of the advertising contract based on the loss of viewer base? Could it be as a result of the adoption of other advertising means? Perhaps it might be a mix of both. Evidence gathered from these questions would help the Manager to decide on the next line of action to take it.