teachers salary

Employment letters state the terms of agreement between an employer and an employee; I will be considering the teacher as an employee to whom we are considering inserting a clause that his salary be based on his/her students performance. This clause would mean that the teachers contribution would be evaluated outrightly based on his students academic performance. While this might be a motivation to spur the teacher into action; it could be demoralising on the longer run as students academic performance might not be the right judge of a teachers contribution. Hence, I am against this claim and would rather support that teachers salaries should be determined aforehand, while students academic performance could be factored in for other benefits such as increment, promotions and appraisals.

It is essential that teachers are thoroughly evaluated and screened before being employed as this will give the employers faith in their teachers. Based on this faith, a salary could be agreed upon. Students academic performance should be objectively reveiwed and included among the metrics used to judge the teachers contribution. This will provide motivation for the teacher to deliver his best.

Students academic performance are affected by myriads of factor which might not have a bearing on the techers perfomance. Some of these factors include: genes inherited from the parents, care and attention given by the parents, self motivation of the students, peer pressure just to mention a few. It would be unfair on the teacher if his/her salary are determined and affected by factors beyond his control.

More so, basing teachers salry on students performance could create polarity in the income earned by teacehrs. For example, Federal Government College, Suleja (FGC, Suleja) in Nigeria is termed 'Gifted School' as it only admits the brightest students all over the country. If we are to compare a teacher in this school with a teacher in another School in Northern Nigeria (denoted as Educationally Less Developed State (ELDS)); it is obvious that the performance of the students at FGC Suleja would far outweight their colleagues in ELDS. Consequently, the salaries of the teachers at Suleja would also outweigh their colleagues. Whereas, the teacehr in Suleja might be exerting less effort when compared to his colleagues. This will do great injustice to the educational system.

Teachers are great pillars of nation building. Therefore, it is critical that they are renumerated properly for their services. It is essential that while schools are considering measures to improve teachers performance, it has to be objective to include all the factors that could affects teachers performance.