The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any ot

There are a number of reasons while that attendance at Super Screen-produced movie would suffer decline; hence the claim by the advertising that attendance at Super Screen-produced movies will improve if a greater share of its budget are allocated to reaching the public through adverising is debatable as the memo does not provide any evidence to give credibility to this recommendations. There is a need for the audit of the bases on which this recommendation was made.

The director equated the increase in the percentag of positive reviews by movie reviewers to the quality of the movie but the memo never cites evidence for this. The director should carry out a research on the reviewers of the movies. Hence a poll could be deigned to have insights on the reveiwers. Are the reviewers employees of Super Screen or relatives of the actors? Do the genres of film produced coincide with the interest of the reviewers? Are the movie reviewers providing a fair critic of the movies or are the critic based on previous works from Super Screen? Answers are needed for these questions before the director can affirm the quality of the movies.

The director made a spurious claim that the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough prospective viewers without any evidence. There could be a number of reasons while viewers may shy away from a movie even if they are aware of its quality. The director need to determine which of the two is the challenge. Is it the reach or the response to the reach. Hence the director needs to provide evidence on the reach of their previous advertisement. The director needs to ask the advertising team, what mode of advertisement it is currently employing? Does the advertisement falls in line with the reach of its targeted viewers.

The director attributed the decline in attendance to the reviews of their movies not reaching prospective viewers. However, no evidence were provided for this. The director needs to engage the prospective viewers via a survey to have insights on the following: Have you ever come across any of our review movies? Are our movies cost effective when compared to others? Do the length of the movies suits you? These are some of the questions that needs to be addressed to understand the root cause of the decline in attendance

All this questions need be answered before this recommendation can be implemented. As it stands, the directors recommendation must be treated with caution.