The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company:

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Marketing-wise, to embark on a vigorous advertising strategy requires a multiple of questions to be answered about the market's attitudes, especially when a product life-cycle is not in the phase of introduction or growth, as indicated, in our case, by the trend of tickets sales. Although the director tries to tackle some of those questions, the answers cannot be deemed decisive enough.

Relying on the percentage of positive reviews, the director directly assumes that the audience would probably agree or even be affected by the ratings, if only they were brought to them. Yet, in actuality, all the way from blockbusters to niche indie pictures, the critics' position is not always seen in accordance with the mainstream commercial current. In fact, it seldom is.

The last point is accentuated by the absence of metadata about the reviews. If we were to depend on such reviews, they would need to be further perused. Details like their number (especially that the director only reported a percentage), whether they are audience-based or critics-based, and how rerpresentative of their segment they actually are -- all need to be addressed before a decision can be made about the budget.

Also, given that the audience would be moved with such reviews, we still need to know whether other competitors are already obtaining similar reviews while simultaneously appealing to the tastes of the audience. This is particularly relevant in the director's discussion of the availability of good movies, which he wildly considered only evident in Super Screen. This brings us to a necessary reconsideration of the quality of the movies, which the author only defended by a mere proof by assertion.

All in all, while the director does draw attention to important trends about the attendance rate in relation to critical reception, his argument fails to address the questions needed in order to adopt the proposed advertising plan. Primarily based on the reviews, there were not a sufficient account of either their number, the backgrounds of their providers, and whether they can act as a representative sample.