The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In marketing terms, it is always necessary to ensure a seller doesn't impose on the buyers what they think is worth buying. However, for a value provider to accurately and reliably figure out what the market, in this case the audience, wants is by no means an easy task. The rigourness of marketing research required to correctly reflect the demand of the late-night news program viewers hereby raises a lot of questions.

For once, the viewers' complaints being merely concerned with the coverage doesn't necessarily mean that it's about its magnitude. That is, it might be the quality by which the coverage is introduced is what is really disappointing the audience. To resolve this, those who filed such complaints should be appropriately interviwed and their specific reasons recorded.

Furthermore, linking the decision of local businesses to withdraw their agreements -- with the aforementioned complaints just seems to be arbitrary. So long as we don't know their motives to do so, it would be hard to rule out several other reasons like the channel's pricing of ads, whether any new competitors have offered them an alternative ad space, or even that they aren't just financially unstable. Even more, whether the audience would be willing to engage with national news on specific conditions also seems to be disregarded by the author. By this, I mean that the type and milieu in which national news is shown can still be reconsidered and accordingly modified to attract either the same audience, or even a new segment of television audience.

In conclusion, while the author based his recommendation on feedback from the audience as well as the sponsors, it was poorly analyzed and insufficiently scrutinized such that it can no longer dictate a reasonable decision by the firm. Unless those questions were properly addressed, the newly proposed plan might incur as much losses to the entity, or even more.