A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Building upon the metaphor of contractarianism, and giving the incremental complexity characteristic of the social contract in proportion to ordinary legal contracts, one should strive to find out how the stipulations of maintaining or breaking such contract would be determined. Approaching a matter as contentious as criminality, those stipulations need to be both qualitatively and quantitatively specified. For example, a broad category of the types of behaviors considered in conflict with a previous consent to the contract would not suffice, but rather a concrete list that is as exhaustive as possible of the extensions of those violations and the different interpretations of their different magnitudes.

Applying this to the question of criminology, merely committing a crime cannot by any means reverse every preceding agreement, however previously maintained by the offender, and declare them an excommunicado, so to speak. Instead, as seen in most legalities around the world and reflected in the corresponding terminology, there must be a system of rules through which crimes are classified in an increasing order of magnitude and assigned punishments proportionately. That is, a crime can well range from a misdemeanor through an offence and all the way to a felony. Hence, it would be totally implausible to treat them as equal.

Furthermore, regardless of the type and magnitude of the crime committed, there will always be a minimum amount of rights deserved for the offender by virtue of both their very human nature as well as the moral code by which the legal system is holding them accountable. Unless this is maintained, it would be difficult to ascribe legitimacy to such opportunistic canon. For instance, so long as they are kept alive, they should be sufficiently fed, protected from physical or otherwise abuse, and even seen as an object of reform.

All in all, while it is fairly accurate to describe a crime as a breakage of the social contract, such breakage should not be pictured as all-or-nothing. In fact, current legal systems already show a recognition of the varied nature of the violation of the social contract that is manifested in legal terminology and scales of punishment. Also, no matter what the quality and quantity of the violation are, there will always be an inherent dimension of rights acquired for humans per se. This latter is necessitated by the requirements of maintaining the consistency of moral constructs.