A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio:

"We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don't get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

As desperately as the producer is asking for receiving an extra fund, he could not manage, however, to put on a compelling argument to increase the movie's funds. Firstly building upon the verdant nature of the director and the anecdotal assessment of his background, the author then gave only a partial and hazy overview of the different factors likely to affect the work's budget.

First of all, what seems as a principal premise of his argument is how he appraises the competency of the director. While he did give a brief view of his previous work, albeit sarcastically, there was not any other mention of, say, his education, upbringing, family, or biographical details in general. In fact, such depiction of the director would make the reader question why he was employed in the first place, especially with the author later citing cost as the reason while paradoxically asking to increase it. In this context, the possibility that the director would benefit from the experience of other persons on the team such that his shortcomings would be offset also seems to be overlooked by the author.

Moving on to the producer's drawing of the financial situation, it may be reasonable to question whether the budget would even out with the money saved in salaries being spent in the expected extra takes. This question seems to be answered by the producer by a mere proof by assertion. Unless more details are known about how the increased expenditures would exceed the spared costs, it would be difficult to allocate the funds.

Moreover, the role of management and coordination was nearly absent in the producer's discussion. That is, the different factors were solely laid out and their impacts passively extrapolated, which assumes there would not be a reasonable kind of active intervention that ensures the best possible utilization of both the financial and human sources of the art project. Finally, even if the cost turns out to be more than previously expected, a projection of the revenues from the movie will still be necessary to evaluate a final cost/benefit ratio.

In conclusion, the author apparently builds a weak case for the request of additional funds for the movie. This firstly manifests in the cherry-picking of the director's repertoire and the subjective tone in its discussion, and then repeats itself in the hasty review of the overall monetary environment. So long as these assumptions remain unproven, there will not be enough credibility to fulfill the producer's request and proper investigation will be needed.