The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is now firmly established in psychology, and probably always has been in the intuitions of smart observers, that the effect of peer pressure is quite significant. When it comes to matters of social symbols, of which the arts are full, the phenomenon might be aggravated. Nonetheless, to think of popularity as the sole, or even the most significant source of bias is a bit of oversimplification. In fact, to even think of the effect of peer pressure regarding a social figure as terminating with their death lacks accuracy.

For one, the bias threatning the appropriate assessment might actually be doubled after a person's death, for it wouldn't only be generated by the inherent barrier of their symbolic value, but their very death might help spread a more romanticized and nostalgia-based narrative about them and their contributions. This is especially true when it is multiple generations apart, since it makes it more difficult to grasp the actual historical nuances of the times, and consequently weakens the very assessment.

Instead, the best shortcut to sincere assessment of artists in general and musicians in particular is to emphasize on the objective approach to talent. For example, given a mastery of the formal requirements of the field, it should also be ensured that the content does not merely reflect the spirit of the age so that it appeals to the most basic of the audience's instincts. Rather, there must be a creative angle from which the artist sees the world and tries to utilize aesthetic instruments to convey it.

Added to the previous in securing the position of synchronous criticism is the role of social dialogue in helping the very criteria of assessing talents be more mature and developed. That is, the type of intellectual exchange that results from the conflicting views about the issue would eventually aid in carving a more accurate view. As a matter of fact, the earlier the assessment takes off, the more probable it becomes for such dialogue to come about and the more engaging it becomes, especially in relation to its magnitude in the case of postponing it to multiple decades later.

To sum up, while we do think the impact of present fame on the honest and unbiased assessment of social idols is undeniable, we still acknowledge other sources of cognitive bias and consider it no less effective. Hence, a more holistic approach towards the issue of literary criticism is recommended.