Some people believe that it is essential to include Physical Education classes in the curriculum for all school-age children. Others think that children's time is better spent on more academic subjects.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It has recently been a topic of extensive debate whether formal education should enlist physical education in the required school courses for all stages up to high school. While the general sedentary theme of contemporary lifestyle plausibly justifies those calls, there are several rebuttal questions to be answered before a rational decision can be made.

Opponents of the proposed physical classes tend to emphasize today's inflation in the qualifications of formal education, which were once more than sufficient to have a firm position in the labor market. Nowadays, however, in order to stand out in the increasingly competitive job milieu, a prospective employee would have to catch up with a conundrum of extracurricular courses, continuous education topics, and practical training. Therefore, state education should favorably implement those extra scopes, since they hold the best for students' future.

On the other hand, proponents of sports courses have a more critical take on the issue. They argue that the current industrial boom, and the competition arising therefrom, is but unsustainable. Not only is it damaging for the limited resources of the environment, as witnessed by climate change and pollution, but it is also affecting man's health by promoting a lack of physical activity. Unless an active intervention is made to mitigate the effects of those trends, it would end up disastrously.

As for schooling, in particular, supporters of compulsory physical education classes highlight their health benefit to young kids, especially with the accumulating evidence on the link between low physical activity and risk of cancer. Furthermore, they reason that such classes would unveil a lot of hidden talents. Given the current high dropout rate among secondary students, this is particularly relevant, because it would allow those children to discover a bunch of alternative opportunities. Even more, in perhaps a decisive resolution to the false dichotomy, recent studies have shown correlations between phyical activity and the very academic achievement, which, if true, might paves the way for a consensus on the relative advantage of undertaking physical education classes.

All in all, although a hasty view of the current job environment would probably favor a change for a more industry-focused curriculum, a more holistic approach to the question of educational systems would necessitate the inclusion of physical education. Personally, I think that, despite the lack of direct transient outcomes, it would be an inevitable step to correct the course of the current global development on the long term.