In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since a link between the 2008 financial crisis and the price bubble in the American housing industry back then had been clearly established, the obssession over house ownership was called into question. However, in lots of places around the world, the debate is still in place.

The large demand for home ownership in some countries is brought about by several factors. Central to these is rental prices. As especially remarkable in cosmopolitan cities, like New York, for instance, the cost of renting can be cripplingly unaffordable. Considering the accompanying stress along with which it comes, this drives people to seek refugee in home ownership.

Furthermore, a cultural factor seems to play a great role, at least in some cases. For example, one's own property appears to be an integral part of the stereotypical image of the so-called American Dream. As counterintuitive as it might sound, behavior economics predict that not so much pre-contemplated aspirations like these can be a main motive force in the housing market, whose prices commensurately adjust.

However, other countries' experiences, especially that of Switzerland, prove that higher reliance on renting can in fact bring more benefits. For once, dispensing with a single place of residence allows for higher job flexibility. This leads, in turn, to a more competitive work environment, which is a healthy economic parameter. Moreover, when other inconspicuous but significant costs, like home insurance, is taken into consideration, the marginal advantage of ownership is hardly maintained.

Still, to propose renting as a viable alternative needs a lot to be done from the state side. For example, an active intervention should always be done to prevent artificial demand-driven prices from being practice. Also, schemes for long-term renting contracts should be encouraged, along with policies to protect the consumers in case of disputes.

To sum up, even though the prevalent urge towards home ownership is fairly explicable by economic and cultural concepts, the assumptions on which they are based are mostly unwarranted. Personally, I think that adopting the already-trialled experience of more extensive renting would prove handy to many countries if only the cultural misconceptions were dropped.