The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Approaching the issue of leadership these days, we should make sure the lessons of history in this concern have been well taught. At a time when the clash of civilization was the predominant logic, which was shockingly in close proximity to the beginning of globalization, it turned out such a vision can have truly dire results. Today, from politics through labor force and into education, this question is still significantly relevant.

Conceding to the importance of prioritizing the united nature of humanity and the necessity of ccooperation that follows therefrom, it would still, however, be a false dichotomy to think of this as necessarily conflicting with competition. In fact, to absolutize the concept of competition as inevitably entailing of clash is a fallacy. Society can thrive with the two concepts working in poised harmony.

An example of the previous principle can be found in the concept of noble competition. By this, I mean any scope where a multitude of agents are keen on achieving a specified goal while showing tolerance to being outperformed and exhibiting respect for the moral code of the competition. This manifests as early as formal education, for instance, a period where the varying academic performance starts preparing students to adopt their attitude towards competition, hopefully with the aid of rational mentors.

Still, an emphasis on cooperation is urgently needed, for it is the mechanism by which the outcome of competition is ensured not to maintain a status-quo for the priviliged and exacerbate the plights of the less lucky. That is, it does not only help qualify leaders by benefitting from the collective capabilities of their peers, but also conveys the graces of the able to the rest of society.

To sum up, when taken to a radical extent, competition can prove, and has already proven, fairly risky. Yet, emphasizing on the moral code of noble competition and coupling it with celebrating the importance of cooperation, both for the advantaged and the disdvantaged, seems to be a preferred holistic approach to the nurture of tomorrow's leaders.