A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The moral burden of modernism has always been given as a typical example for the philosophical critique of the times. However, there should be a distinction between mere golden-age nostalgia and the objective criticism of contemporary moral codes.

It might be a fallacy to think of social status as a modern construct. After all, the nobles, the aristocrats, and the Brahman caste were no less a social status than, for example, the American 1% nowadays. These are cross-cultural terms that prove the ancient nature of the social status. However, it is still fairly plausible to highlight the increasing weight of economic value in today's social status, perhaps due to basic human needs being more and more dependent on affluency.

Yet, contrary to the common belief, such focus on monetary capacity is not necessarily in conflict with a fixation on morality. In fact, the technological advances and the accumulation of knowledge that were brought about by modernism have made financial capacity be an indispensible prerequisite of any sincere moral position.

This can be easily shown on state level: economic and miltary power always precede their educational and cultural counterparts. Further, this is still true on an individual level. Unless financial independence is granted, one's own autonomy, and consequently morality, would be seriously threatened.

All in all, while it is easy to spot a shift in attitudes and customs towards bare old-fashioned values, such transition is not necessarily due to a degrading morality. Contrarily, given the incresaing competition in today's labor force and how it showcases the role of material categories in one's autonomy and creativity, such focus might actually indicate an indirect emphasis on ethics.