Some people say that now is the best time in history to be living.

What is your opinion about this?

What other time in history would be interesting to live in?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

The question of assigning values to different periods of time have always been tricky and prone to bias. For one thing, humans inherently have a tendency to romanticize the past, which translates into the famous phenomenon of nostalgia. Histroriology has also shown that matters of differential power and resources result in a more selective account of almost all historical events. "History is written by the might", people say. On the other hand, to live in one era means that one is definitely more exposed to the particularities of that age and can have a more informed assessment thereof. That is, it would be less susceptible to what psychologists call availability bias. Similarly, all of those factors apply to the problem of which period of time is best to live in.

The technological advancements of the 21st century are undeniably unprecedented. Thanks to electricity and fossil fuels, for example, our lives are unimaginably easier than those of any previous era. The information revolution brought about by the internet as well has opened the world like never before. And as for theory and human thought, it is only in modern times that the notions of empiricism and pragmatism could supersede superstition and give way for such scientific progress. These advantages make it very tempting to declare now as the pinnnacle of human history.

However, being a student of philosophy and having a great interest in social sciences, I have always strived to compile a timeline of human moral development. As it turns out to be, moral development was closely linked to its epistemological counterpart. By the time humanity came to undermine reason to establish empiricism, it became more difficult to argue for a divinely inspired ethical system -- a phenomenon known as nihilism. This can be seen in the rise of athiesm and, more importantly, the entertainment culture. A larger number of humans now are engaged in hedonist activities that are detrimental to their health (despite the higher ability now to maintain it thanks to the more advanced healthcare) and lackadaisical about the sociopolitical issues that require a strong moral compass.

By that token, being a Muslim, I would only replace this time with that of the Rashidun Caliphate. Back then, there were ardent believers of the true message of Islam as a mission that utilizes religion to uplift humanity by promoting egalitarianism, political and religious freedom, and civilization. As much as I would love to see this first-hand, it is my strong conviction that today's world can, and will, be better by implementing the core values of Islam in the near future.