The tourism industry has grown enormously over the last fifty years, and there are few places which are unaffected by it. However, tourism rarely benefits the countries which tourists visit.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As an increasing effect of globalism puts forth the question of tourism, we are being faced with more and more controversies. Central to these is the benefit of tourism in the first place, which, some argue, is seldom witnessed. Putting those reciprocal views to the test, however, one should analyze both the economical and cultural ramifications of the industry.

Admittedly, in monetary terms, the toursim industry has been marching very well. New small and medium sized enterprises have been established to meet the increasing demand of foreign visitors, and along with these came a lot of job opporunities in the field. Also, the influx of tourists provides a rich source for foreign currency, which is particularly precious for countries struggling with an unstable currency rate.

Nonetheless, those who question the utility of tourism emphasize on the meta-economic effect of such model. By this, I mean the state of dependency that arises from owing a significant ration of a country's growth to the externally-based tourism. They argue that an actual soveriegn polity would want to ensure that tourism only has a complementary economic role, lest it becomes weaponized upon a political dispute.

On the other hand, the cultural impact of tourism is no less controversial. Proponents of tourism tend to highlight the intermingle brought about by the industry. They claim that it allows for an exchange of ideas and a great deal of mutual tolerance. Nevertheless, given the general hedonist theme of modern tourism, this is probably not the case. In fact, when sophisticated cultures and civilizations become a subject of the perfunctory exhibitions of tourism, they seem to be commercialized and thus only shallowly presented.

On balance, even though basic economic parameters suggest great advantages of tourism, a more comprehensive scrutiny seems to tip the scales in favor of keeping it in check. In terms of culture, also, toursim only appears to be beneficial if seen through the lens of modernism, which begs the question of traditional identities and thereby might end up harming them.