"The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.""

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it would be unanimously agreed upon that safety comes first, it is critical to ensure that the trajectory of human creativity is not to be hindered by unnecessary fear. Therefore, for us to reach a solid conclusion about the comparison, there must be more to the evaluation of unmanned space probes than merely bringing back information, however valuable. This seems to be absent in the author's argument.

Before venturing to ascribe inevitable incremental costs and risks to manned space flight, a careful look to its evolution over the last century is a must. After all, it was once thought a dream that a man could ever land on space. Also, the author solely described unmanned probes as evading the human cost but failed to address the monetary cost of developing such standalone machinery. Additionally, and probably more important, such trend would incur the opportunity cost of trying to modify the less intelligent machines so that they become competent enough to collect human-like observations, a task that the most brilliant of minds would engage in. On the other hand, sticking to this comparison implicitly assumes that the two cannot work in unison. That is, it fails to connect the advances in unmanned probes with how humans can later adopt them in more complicated flights, where humans would be less exposed to risks.

In conclusion, even though it is tempting to prioritize the safety of man by more reliance on technology, the evolution of manned space flights suggests that it is a false dichotomy to think of the two as contradictory. Moreover, where the outcome of unmanned space probes was mentioned by the author, there were no adequate discussion of their costs or the probability to utilize them in manned flights. Unless such assumptions are cogently proven, there would not be enough support for the recommendation.