Some people think it’s better to choose Mends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it’s good to have friends who

sometimes disagree with them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

As ancient philosophers put it, "man is a political animal". What this maxim means is that the material and spiritual needs of humans can only be met in an interdependent social setting. It is based on this universal fact that most people cannot dispense with the company of friends, so much so that the contrary is considered pathological. The characters and qualities of those friends in relation to ours, however, is much more relative.

For some people, the need for friendly opinions is one for validation and acceptance. They therefore have to mostly be in accordance with our own. That is, the opinions are meant to provide us merely with the psychological consolation of hearing them being confirmed out loud. It is to hear more arguments on the propositions we already assume to be true. Now this might seem like begging the question at first sight, but we can hardly deny that it is case when it comes to things we strongly believe in but have a hard time proving. It may be a sophistical question to ask what is objectively wrong about cynicism, for example, but no philanthropist whatsoever would enjoy the company of a cynic.

Another way to look at diiferent opinions is that of dialectic. Namely, it is the notion that true knowledge is a synthesis of two opposing views. Proponents of this approach like to be surrounded by people of different mentalities in hopes of catalyzing the evolution of their own outlooks. Apparently, this method can lead to catastrophic clashes and prove unfeasible when it comes to firm convictions. However, it is a good practice to review the great majority of personal views through this lens to make sure we are not kept in a small bubble. At the end of the day, most theoretical and practical questions are pluralistic.

In summary, the beliefs and mindsets of our loved ones cannot be reduced to a simple agreement test. We can rather prioritize a few meta opinions whose adoption is deemed an absolute criterion to tell a friend from a foe, whereas we stick to the suspension of judgment on the great rest of matters. This ensures that we stay open-minded while also living by an unequivocal code of ethics.