The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

One of the most important findings of modern social psychology has been the abolishing of the notion of so-called priviliged access. This term describes the erroneous claim that one's self is better known by its very self, since it can get to the maximum amount possible of givens and information about it. However, expiremental evidence has shown that the self-concept is rather fundamentally distorted and full of illusions, for these play a significant role in the psychological adaptation needed to cope with normal stress.

Applying this to the question of self-knowledge in particular, one should thereby only accept their self-concept with reservations, lest they turn out to be affected by the numerous cognitive biases that always work in a concerted manner. Here, it can be deduced that what is usually labeled familiar is highly susceptible to be affected by bias, because it is a product of the innate tendencies of human thinking and can only be ameliorated by external intervention. For example, unless one is fully aware of the inclination to overestimate one's relative performance in a group, they are likely to end up working less on improving themselves.

On the other hand, though, such rule-of-thumb is majorly liable to individual differences. Again quoting modern psychology, the modern theory of personality dimensions clearly shows that the self-concept, and thereby self-knowlege, can be more or less accurate by having specific personality traits. For instance, a higher level of conscientiousness, characteristic of perfectionist and workaholic persons, significantly increases self-criticism and thus exposes otherwise straightforawrdly accepted notions to severe scrutiny. Therefore, before venturing to reject any familiar or long held belief, one should refer to the correspondent objective criteria based on which a belief about the self can be embraced or denounced.

In toto, while it is true that one's own depiction of the self, both its points of weakness and strength, is usually flawed and a result of the exigent desire to cope, some familiar notions might still be aligned with the objective stance about them. For this reason, instead of focusing on a mere opposition between the exceptional and the familiar, we recommend the focus be shifted to a subjective versus objective kind of scheme, where conforming to standard measures would be the only way to establish a belief. Such perspective would not only allow for a more accurate self-image, but would rather allow one to assess their relative susceptibility to different biases.