Some people say the main way to be happy in life is to have a lot of money. How might having a lot of money make people happy? What other things in life can make people happy?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

It is not a stretch to say that some sort of money has always been at the center of every human society, long before cash money was even a thing. In fact, at the time when barter was the basis of transactions, the concepts of affluence and poverty were also applicable. It is cerainly not a coincidence. This general sense of money refers to any material assets or valuables in one's possession, whether they are properties, gold, land, crops, etc. Intuitively, one can see the possible link between those physical resources and the general well-being of humans.

The notion of linking happiness to money has roots in the partly physical nature of humans themselves. The most obviously associated need is food. It is hardly ever provided for free in a good quality. While sex is certainly not a commodity (at least in its finest form, which is contractual marriage), it also has material requirements in order to remain as a motive for the basic nucleus of society: the family. Not only are males typically required to provide for the partners who are more involved in nurturing offspring, but they have to maintain their health to stay capable of reproducing too. But even higher-level needs and more sophisticated sources of happiness appear to be linked to money. For all its abstract nature, the intellectual reward of knowledge, for example, comes at a cost. The institutional character of any appropriate education system means that there is always a financial toll. The same goes for vocational training or sports academies.

As it turns out, however, there is only so much that money can achieve. Namely, the need for money stops at the basic level of giving access to the resource. To actually utilize it is a different story. Eating, for instance, cannot be an end in and of itself. It is only useful inasmuch as it enables people to go about their more advanced endeavors. Furthermore, sex and intimacy are only uplifted by love. As spiritual entities, humans strive to have the sense of purpose in their lives. They are fond of eternality and cling at the idea of leaving legacy. These are things that are simply priceless.

In conclusion, while it is very understandable to link money with happiness, the latter does not necessarily follow from the former. In the language of logicians, money is a condition rather than a cause for happiness.