A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Although a relatively modern question to be examined, the extent to which educational curricula should conform to standard or mainstream agendas has been recently a topic of extensive debate, one that is fairly understandable. To engage in such controversy, however, requires us to address both the social settings in which the concept of modern educational systems have arisen in the first place, and the premises of both opposing stances at present.

Proponents of a unified national curriculum might argue that it is an urgently needed guidance for adolescents that still don't have a crisp vision of what different fields of knowledge really are, which might entice them to impulsively pick a path on grounds of overly simplistic criteria, or childlike stereotypes. They emphasize that such

On the other side of the spectrum, though, liberals would tend to emphasize the increasing division of labor the world has been witnessing since the industrial revolution. Apparently, such division didn't only affect practical enterprises, but went on to change the very structure of both natural and social sciences to a more nuanced and highly sophisticated network of inter-related fields. Hence, to address this kind of intricate and inter-related fields is becoming a nearly impossible task, with the consequence that an extra amount of majorization is becoming more necessary from earlier stages of education.

In this context, the latter view is more relevant to the evolution of nowadays educational systems, for they were only developed in the cradle of the industrial revolution that mistakenly applied an industrial model of production to the function of education. That is, it was designed to prepare "batches" of students, all conforming to specific standards, with less regard to their individual variations and the magnitude of creativity that follows from respecting them.

In conclusion, while the advice of standardized curriculum might spare the young from poorly considered major decisions, it is almost incompatible with the current trajectory of scientific evolution that is characterized by extensive accumulation of knowledge. Also, for our educational systems to sufficiently encourage creativity, they must offer more assorted courses schemes that would be able to meet the expectations of the distinct blends of student abilities, all of which is difficult to achieve with one national curriculum.