For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

As tempting as it might be to shunt some funds away as soon as their outcomes improve, it is necessary for such transition to have solid grounds. In case of Grandview Symphony, even though the recommending commissioners have mentioned some numerical and statistical figures, the entirety of their report is severely flawed, both quantitatively and logically.

As for the numbers, using a logarithmic measure to report a change in monetary terms is especially tricky: Although a 200% increase is intuitively huge, it is the original value before the increase is what puts it in context. Furthermore, only by putting the amount of governmental funding for the foundation in comparison with that of the private sponsors that we can be able to deduce a change of trend.

Added to the previous is a question of methodology. The recommenders did not seem to address whether other confounding variables may be responsible for the increase in ticket sales. For example, an exceptionally successful composition might boom their concert attendance for a year, but for this effect to be extrapolated probably needs further scrutiny. This brings us to yet another wild assumption: the annual success of the band cannot be explained by an overall prosperity in the music industry. That is, unless a control is used as a frame of comparison, we cannot really be sure about the performance of Grandview symphony.

However, provided that this year's success is as properly fathomed as the recommenders claim, whether such success would be sustainable without the governmental aids is still questionable. Also, it must be ensured that the increased reliance on private contributions would not end up affecting the originality of the content, especially given the classical nature of their work and it being against the mainstream, and thereby commercially preferred, taste.

In conclusion, the provided recommendation seem to be based on weak assumptions and incoherent narratives. For once, the quantitative measurements of the outcomes based on which the advice was given are essentially missing and a bit awkward. Additionally, a correlational piece of evidence was hastily extended to presume causality with a risky disregard for both the nature of the symphony and the general musical environment.