In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Inspired by the multiple superheroes they grow up watching and given their special innate faculty of imagination, children must be reconciled with reality in a sensitive way. Some people, however, believe that parents should only play a motivational role. This lacks the subtlety with which caregivers should touch on the subject.

First things first, when they come out of parents, such messages of encouragment can raise a child's self-esteem, which has repeatedly been shown in psychological studies to correlate with different positive outcomes, including high academic achievement. Psychology-wise, also, narratives of big dreams can well translate into a self-fulfilling prophecy. For example, when a father keeps telling his child that he is good at math, the kid's cognitive capacity is spared from otherwise extensive stress over trying to prove adequate to his loved ones. Thus, it becomes totally dedicated to the task, allowing for better performance.

Still, overly sanguine depictions of reality can wreak havoc on the young's attitudes towards thorny subjects. After all, for parents to honestly convey their life experiences to their descendants requires them to avoid such oversimplification. This is particularly pertinent due to the normal likelihood of children to think naively. Unless intervened by a poised perspective that the parents manifest, a romanticized outlook of life, developed in adolescence, would probably lead to a series of disappointments in the future.

On conclusion, when provided with insightful accounts of significant life challenges, children in which values of determination and diligence are instilled since their early days can, indeed, lead a more successful life. However, this is provided that caregivers maintain a balance between far-reaching aspirations and sufficiently realistic images.