The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Is the question of governing better approached in a top-down or bottom-up direction? Between the radically democratic city-states of the Greek and the depotic empires of the medieval ages, this has been a topic of extensive debate throughout history.

Generally speaking, diversity is a source of creativity and development. When sophisticated scopes like economy or administration are approached, it is normal for some basic dichotomies to arise, according to more or less emphasis on some aspects. In case of economy, for instance, it seems that some will always tend to cast more light on the benefits of liberality and free markets while others emphasize equality and sharing. Such divisions can turn beneficial to the common good if it were left to the people to select the fruits of each vision as appropriate with the circumstances, which certainly require a sense of skepticism.

In this context, the very nature of authority can serve as a mechanism for questioning it. By being confined to limited terms, as seen in modern democracies, for example, political parties make sure that they meet their electors' standrds. Conversely, when positions of power are obtained by means of physical control, as in an absolute monarchy, those who doubt the official narratives would lack the necessary tools to reflect their objections on the welfare of the people.

However, too much questioning can end up being a hindrance of a nation's development. For example, despite the role of labor uprisings in maintaining their civil rights, state-wide revolts can wreak havoc on the economy. In turn, such a debilitated state would be unable to address actual change, even if promised to contain the situation.

In conclusion, while a sense of criticism is vital to the social and political evolution, it should always be exercised with caution, lest it aggravates into a schism that threatens solidarity.