Some people believe that in order to thrive, a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens. Others believe that the well-being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The opposition between individual and collective perspectives have been going back and forth in human thought from a complete schism to a complete unification, with all the middle grounds in between. As for the question of societal progress, it was not any less controversial.

For one, prosperity on a state or nation level is never a starting point. It takes lots of effort and active intervention for humans to create the system in which natural and human sources can be efficiently utilized. This would necessarily require its individuals to give up some personal rights in order for them to be part of this social contract and, hopefully, benefit from its outcomes as well. For example, they would have moral obligations that, by definition, restrict their agency to act freely.

However, once such structure is established, with all the division of labor it takes and all the variation that naturally occurs in its economic and social scale, a matter of inequality arises. This is because every state-level function, be it economy, education, or politics, must have a hierarchical structure and some sort of centralization of power that ends up as a threat for the fair and equal distribution of the collective fortunes.

Such kind of imbalance leads the privileged elite to later use the idea of the common good, or the success of society, as a mere facade to maintain the status quo, where the rest of the individuals are being used for their advantages. And hereby arises the fake opposition between the individual good and the common good, where, in fact, they should only be seen as complementary.

All in all, we believe that individual success is by no means in conflict with collective success: both can only be built upon a notion of self-control, responsibility, and loyalty.