In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The information revolution brought about by the internet in general, and electronic books in particular, is undeniable. Not only have paperbooks sales plummeted, but the plethora of piracy websites and torrents out there have raised fears that there might even not be a viable paid alternative.

Formal initiatives marked the beginning of the free access movement. Volunteer efforts to have legitimate access for some content as per their creators' premission was, and still is, the aim of some organizations, like archive.org, for instance. Even though it was possible for copyrights to be violated in such settings, being stored in a specific physical device that is owned by a sole person still made legal actions feasible.

With the invent of peer-to-peer technology, however, leaked and pirated material could for the first time be accessed by the public without a resulting accountability of a specific hosting server. Although the film industry, for example, was also hardly struck by the phenomenon, it seems that scientific literature and books in particular were harmed the most.

While a paid theatre experience might still urge loyal buyers to avoid piracy, the electronic book actually appeals more to most readers. The ease with which it can be browsed, the spatial efficieny of digital storage, and the possibility to utilize the search feature for more analytical goals -- all tipped the scales in favor of the ebook.

Still, this should not necessarily doom every legal alternative. By looking at the motives behind using pirated material, it appears that the lack of pragmatic alternatives is crucial. The paywalls imposed by most publishers are simply beyond the majority's reach. Should more institutionalized solutions be implemented, such as a state- or a university-granted access, the readers' behaviors are likely to be altered. Such alteration would not be driven by technical difficulties, such as the site being blocked, for these have turned easily crackable. Instead, it would be encouraged by their own conscience.

All in all, the technological advancements in electronic sources do pose a serious threat to their paper counter parts and are likely to overtake them in the future. However, with a governmental action being taken, this doesn't mean that such books have to be illegally distributed.