The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

For us to draw an anlogy between the neighboring Eastern Carpentaria and the current situation in West Lansburg requires us to build a good case for a similarity in their relative natural and human milieus. While the author addresses their similar sanctuary status, any other details about the conditions in which it was repealed or the elimination of other possible reasons for the synchronous decline in their sea otter are absent. In fact, it must also be known whether the correspondent release in conservation measures there was as well a result of a lobbyist intervention in the legislation or merely a technical decision based on available givens.

On the other hand, more weight must be given to the current situation of the very focus of the issue: the tufted groundhogs. Any decision to be taken must must be based on accurate data about both their current number and the trends in their population since the commencemnt of the sanctuary status. Such data wouldn't only allow for a critical appraisal of the relative risks and benefits of the to-be project, but would also help evaluate the very efficacy of the sanctuary in its current form, which, if proven, might be an alternative explanation for the decline in the neighboring region.

In addition to those, it must be ensured that the charge of lobbyism is not of a polemical nature that is likely to happen in a bipartisan atmosphere. In other words, it must be completely apolitical and non-ideological. Futhermore, as counterintuitive as it might sound, the very impact of the development of the access road must also not be taken as given. In case the entity responsible for the project has any guarantees for maintaing the habitats of groundhogs, this should also be taken into consideration.

To sum up, the author's argument solely builds upon an analogy with a past scenario in the neighoring region as if it has happened in a vaccum; namely, it disregards all the contingency factors in which it led to the feared consequence, and likewise disregards them in West Lansburg. Also, the prospective project was only labeled with a seemingly factional term, without providing any evidence to lend it the appropriate credibility. Finally, a discussion of the corresponding losses from not proceeding in the project, including opportunity costs and in relation to the general economic and financial status, is also lacking and would be important to adopt a rational stance.