The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner Over the past two years the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically Many Central

The decrease in shoppers and a corresponding increase in the popularity of skateboarding has motivated the writting of this letter by a Central Plaza store owner in a bid to save his/her business. The recommendation in this letter to the editor from the store owner seems logical, however, the recommendation is drawn from questionable and debatable reasonings which needs to be addressed before the implementation of this recommendation.

The store owner attributed the decrease in shoppers to an increase in the number of skateboard users. However, no metrics were given as to how this relationship was determined. The store owner needs to provide answers to the source of his data for this inverse relationship between shoppers and skateboarders. Furthermore, the plaza owner should shed more light on the overall performance of plazas in the area as well as stores in the plaza. Is the drop in the number of shoppers ubiquitous or limited to the store owner or Central Plaza? Perhaps, the store owner should consider the current economic status of Central Plaza's location to provide answers on the performance of the stores.

The letter subtly linked the dramatic increased in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza to skateboard users. However, there is no evidence to support this claim. More so, the letter failed to mention or provide evidence for availability of waste bins or security measures in the plaza. The overall security situation in the area also needs to be considered. Is the vandalism across the region or just localised to the plaza? Are there enough waste bins and waste disposal measure in the plaza? Answers to this question will really provide a disinterested evaluation of the recommendation. The store owners should review the CCTV footage of the plaza and provide answers as regards the perpetrators of these vices.

The store owner also needs to provide answers for the nature of goods and services offered by the stores in Central Plaza. Do this goods and services have any relationship with skateboard users? Are skateboard users enjoying the facilities at Central Palaza while patronising other stores or plazas. Answers to this question will help the store owner decide if it is right to prohibit skateboarding or consider goods and services needed by skateboarders.

Until Answers to this questions are satisfactorily provided, the recommendation might not achieve the predicted result. Hence the store owners needs to let go of his preconceived notions and bring answers to this question to fortify his reasonings and recommendation.