The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In this memo from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants, the manager concludes that the replacement of butter by margarine had little impact on their customers. To justify this conclusion, the manager points out that when Happy Pancake House restaurants use margarine to replace the butter, only 2 percent of customers complained and many servers reported that a number of customers initially ordered butter did not complaint about margarine replacement, which may appear plausible at a cursory glance. With a streak of dubious and poor evidence and holes, this conclusion is in fact ill-conceived. The reasons are stated as follows.

To begin with, the manager assumes that complaints from only 2 percent of customers means that the customers do not acknowledge the replacement. Although it is entirely possible, the manager offers no evidence to corroborate this crucial assumption. It is very likely that the customers recognize the change and different tastes between margarine and butter but they are unwilling to complain because the complaint will occupy their much time and degrade their mood. An appropriate example is not very far to seek. For example, the customer could feel happy with their friend and the whole family when the customers choose to eat in Happy Pancake House, therefore, they do not want to ruin the enjoyment and nice moment to complain. To fortify this conclusion, the manager should provide more reliable evidence. If the manager can convince me that the little amount of complaints indeed means customers do not distinguish the replacement, this conclusion will be significantly strengthened. Otherwise, the conclusion is far-fetched.

In addition, the manager assumes that the report about no complaint from many servers when a number of customers who ask for butter actually served with margarine represent that the customers are unaware of the change. Nevertheless, there is no guarantee that it is necessarily the case, the manager does not provide any conclusive evidence for the assumption that the ingenious about the report from many servers. What is of the equal possibility that the servers are not willing to report the reality and belie the complaint to avoid any potential fine and penalty. To illustrate this point clearly, let us have a look at this following representative example. For example, the Happy Pancake House restaurant has some policies to punish the server when complaints come out, then the servers always like to mask the truth. Otherwise, without accounting for and ruling out these and other alternative explanations, the manager cannot bolster this conclusion.

The last but not the least important, even the evidence turns out to support the aforementioned assumptions, the manager just simply relies on the assumption that the customers who initial preference was replaced by margarine do not make complain equals that the customers failed to find out whether what they eat is butter or margarine. It is very reasonable to doubt that what the manager assumes will not happen in reality. It is just as possible that the customers like the new odor and taste of margarine and alacrity to accept this replacement without noticing the servers. For example, if margarine is much more delicious and tastier than butter when applying to the bread, the customer will be much happier to use margarine. To cite the reasonable conclusion, the manager should provide alternative scenarios and explain either why none of these alternatives are available or why none of them are able to sustain.

To sum up, the manager's conclusion is not based on valid evidence and sound reasons, none of that is dispensable to confirm this conclusion. To draw a better conclusion, the manager should reason convincingly, cite more persuasive evidence, and take every possibility into account.