The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument that "Butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants" is based on only 2 percent of customers complaints and servers reports of Happy Pancake House restaurants. While the line of reasoning is somewhat persuasive, it committed Insufficient sample fallacy and biased sample fallacy. Therefore is logically not sound.

First of all, the argument commits Insufficient sample faulty. The author made conclusion that butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants has had little impact on their customers based on only about 2 percent complaints and several server reports. It is possible that majority of customers don't like margarine. So, the author should need to conduct customers reviews and polls.

Second, the author made the wrong assumption on the basis of just 2 percent complaints. When indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change, the author just considering the 2 percent of complaints. He committed an even more serious fallacy by indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Rather, the author

should take feedback and reviews from all the customers.

finally, the argument potentially assumed that the margarine had little impact on their customers by servers report that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Actually, it may be those customers doesn't want to complain about their dislikes and doesn't care about getting margarine instead of butter. Moreover, if either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine, this does not guarantee that all customers are happy with the change.

In sum, the argument is neither sound nor convincing since it overlooks many possibilities that must be addressed or conducted to strengthen its statement. if it included the items described above, it may be more strong or persuasive.