The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

The argument claims that increase in business revenue and addition of viewers is solely possible by restoring the time devoted to local and weather news which is not substantiated due to several assumptions it makes. Carefully considering these assumptions, its significant that the claims would implode and render thesis to fall apart with any questioning made on these assumputions, and some are described below.

Claiming that attracting more viewers is possible by just increasing the time of local and weather news is irrational even in utopian society; indeed viewers who are intereseted in subscribing to the channel is not just mearly for news and this doesn't explain any reasoning behind such a motive. Has the channel claimed that their only telecast is news program and viewers are significant due to their news telecast it would make some sense but still adding any viewers would be question rather than retaining present viewers. And indeed it claims late news program, which not much of the populace would be interested in, would make this to fall apart.

It goes to mention that the local business canceled their advertising but it never mentions the reasoning behind the cancellation of advertising by the business. One can safely assume that the intended goal of the advertisement by the local business would have been reached which might be carefully construed as rational process. Has it been said the reasoning of cancellation of advertising contract is because of coverage of weather and local news it indeed makes a sense but nevertheless it wouldn't still substantiate the reasoning for loss of further revenue due to the fact that this is not their sole revenue from adverts.

Most complaints recieved can be by the same people rather than different people who are particualry interested in late night program due to the fact that not much of the populace would be interested in watching the news at such a time. And complaints were concered about the vaguely descibed word 'coverage' which can construed as depth of the information being spread rather than the time devoted for it. This would make the reasoning that increasing the time for news program as invalid or even worse it would loss the viewers, as no one would be interested with such superfical channel just longing on something just to get rid off the time.

Has the argument mentioned the reasoning behind addition of viewers and upkeep of revenues by increasing the time spent for local and weather news it would make the thesis rational and irrefutable which would persuade the change. But it did failed to make any such reasoning and this makes the argument completely flawed and the decision based on this would not succeed.