The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. 'Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.' Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer of this memorandum recommends that if the TV channel devote more time to weather and local news, there will be more viewers and business partners, however, this conclusion cannot be accepted, in that it rests on some premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem concerning this conclusion is that he did not mentioned the number of people who were complaining about lack of local news and weather. Maybe the number of people who are not agree with global news compared with total number of viewers are negligible. The business manager should listen to the bigger proportion of their viewers. If, for example, only 10 out of their 2000 viewers are complaining about the time devoted to global news, it is safe to assume that there are more people happy about the new way that the show runs.

Another problem with his conclusion is that he assumes that their business partners canceled their contract because they did not devote enough time to local news. However, there is no evidence that it is exactly because of their time devotion. As an example, maybe there are better platforms like social media that can have a profound impression on consumer and is less expensive, so it is better for companies to invest more money on social media other than paying TV channels to promote their product. So the manager should find out where those companies are now paying for adverts.

Additionally, late-night news might attract less viewers because its airing time is not suitable for viewers anymore, maybe ten years ago people used to stay up until midnight to watch news, but today, because of their demanding schedules they are not able to watch the late-night news.

There is another problem with his conclusion which is, he does not talk about their rivals like social media apps that can show you the news anytime you like. These apps has a irrefutable impact on number of people who watch news to understand what is going on in the world or their hometown. Hence the manager should run a survey to see how people nowadays watch or read news.

In the final analysis, the business manager recommends that it is better to restore the time devoted to weather and local news which, cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable. The recommendation can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to, are all removed.