'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

The business manager's memorandum fails to provide a convincing and compelling argument for the return of local news and weather over national news on the late-night program. Rife with baseless assumptions, the argument does not provide specific examples, figures, or numbers to bolster the author's point of view. The business manager's argument thus quickly falls out of favor unless supplemented with additional compelling arguments.

The author states that most of the complaints arise from those agitated with the lack of local news and weather. However, the author fails to provide any numbers which may make the author's suggestions more plausible. No numbers or even percentages exist when discussing these complaints. While 50,000 complaints may make the station's executives more likely to validate the author's argument, four complaints may only serve the purpose of causing a good laugh. Facts and figures must be provided for the complaints to carry any weight. Furthermore, the memorandum only states that "most" of the complaints are regarding the local news and weather. Whether the actual percentage is 51% versus 99%, would definitely factor into the station's decision to restore more local programming.

The business manager also implies a sort of guarantee that advertisers who have previously discontinued their use of the station's programming would return if the local programming was restored. This argument, however, remains only a baseless assumption without the backing of a survery or poll. A poll taken among these former advertisers would carry quite a bit of weight with the program's executives, given that a significant amount of the advertisers had agreed to resume their services if they local news and weather programming were restored. The memorandum fails to provide proof of this, further weakening the author's overall argument.

Without a survey among all advertisers, former and current, determining the effects on the station are nearly impossible. Current advertisers may be larger, more widespread companies aiming at a national audience, rather than localities. If the station returned to more locally focused programming, it could cause current advertisers to become disinterested in pursuing the business manager's suggestions. The risks greatly outweigh the benefits without in-depth market research in regard to the advertisers, especially without a guarantee that former advertisers would return to paying for ads during the program.

The author of the memorandum does not provide sufficient evidence, research, or numbers to back up the suggestions brought forth. The station's executives would be taking an uncalculated risk in following these suggestions without further proof of their benefits.