A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Requiring a nation's school curriculum to be universal would be detrimental, not only to the individual's desire to learn, but to the future of the nation as a whole. Many young students already have a difficult time focusing on subjects they are disinterested in. The desire to be involved in a universal education system would precipitously diminish if students are not given an option to focus on courses in which they are truly engaged and interested.

If schools were to adopt a universal curriculum, students would have an even more difficult time going to school in the morning than they already do. Algebra, for example, is one of the more dreaded classes among high schoolers. They are demotivated and uninterested in the topic as they feel it will have no bearing on their lives after high school. However, there may be one thing getting them through algebra: their passion. Whether a student's passion lies in physical eduation, photography, or robotics, almost every single student has a subject they look forward to that moves them through the day, no matter how laboriously. There simply would not be enough time in a day for schools to implement every single one of these classes into their curriculum, thus creating the need for electives. A young learner may feel that choosing his or hers electives are the only control they have over their lives during their teenage years. Taking this freedom away would decrease students' motivation to the point that their desire to learn will be near negligible.

A nation's leaders must also account for those students whose interests and passions have yet to blossom. If children follow a universal curriculum which includes, for example, only algreba, english, and geometry, they will not have an opportunity to develop other interests. Where will our nurses, doctors, and scientists come from? Under the requirement of a universal education, school would essentially pump out clone after clone incapable of developing their own passions. Students must be allowed to have a sense of freedom to choose electives and dive into the unknown oceans of different subjects in order to decide if that subject is one they are interested in exploring.

A curriculum that works for some students may not be as applicable, if even possible. to other students. School-age children may have disabilites such as dyslexia, cognitive delay, or speech delay. To require them to attend the same exact classes as their peers without disabilities is not only unethical, but downright cruel. Students with severe disabilities would struggle greatly compared to their counterparts, necessitating the need for a variation in the classes and subjects. Without this variation in the curriculum, children with severe learning disabilities would be entirely left behind.

Ultimately, a lack of elective classes and chances for variation would inhibit student's learning in almost every way. They will be less motivated to labor through the classes that don't interest them as they have nothing to look forward to. They will have more difficulty discovering their passions and interests. Perhaps the most concerning disadvantage would be that those students with disabilities will be left behind without a chance to survive in the educational or working world.