The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

The petitioner's case as presented to Centerville's city council leaves the reader searching for evidence that is not present in the above text. The argument is rife with assumptions, seemingly without bases, which leaves copious amounts of information to be desired before coming to the conclusion that cell phones are to blame for the recent increase in crime on Centerville's sidewalks.

Perhaps the most pertinent piece of information, among the many pieces missing, is exactly how much crime has increased. The petition does not specify where there was one more assault than the previous three years, or 1000 assaults more. Without these crucial statistics, the argument remains that absolutely no action is needed because the increase in crime is so insignificant and may even be consistent with rising crime trends that were already present in the city.

The petition's main compelling force for the banning of cell phones utilizes the example of Middletown. The author, however, fails to bolster this argument by not comparing the similarities, or differences, between Middletown and Centerville. Middletown may be a more bucolic and pastoral town compared to the latter city in question. If Middletown were very spread out, the town's citizens may exclusively drive instead of walk. Thus, there have been no complaints regarding their cell phone ban because it affects a negligible percentage of the population.

The petitioner purports cell phones are to blame in their entirety rather than only certain functions of cell phones. For example, the author uses the phrase, "...people texting... are more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers." If people texting are the primary concern, then would any benefit lie in banning cell phones entirely as opposed to texting itself? Surely people talking on their phone do not have an increased likelihood of wandering into the road or inadvertently knocking over children.

The affected streets are also not specified. Is the crime increase a city-wide dilemma or only present on a single street? The author does not purport a cell phone ban specifically on a single road which they may use often. They merely propose a city-wide ban rather than focusing on a single area that may contain the entirety of the problem.

Ultimately, the petitioner makes it very difficult to espouse with the solution of a city-wide cell phone ban, primarily due to a lack of evidence, specificity, and statistics. The petition entirely devitalizes it's argument by being elusive of these elements and thus, creating an argument which is void of all reason or logic.