Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Without controversial discussions, there would not be a chance for new ideas to be formed, beliefs to be modified, or even decisions to be made. It is highly doubtful that any two human beings in history have shared identical beliefs in every topic. If this fact rendered any discussions meaningless, then humanity would not be anywhere close to where we are today. Fundamentally challenging a person's core beliefs can only be achieved by first understanding. One must strive to understand the point of view of those they wish to persuade. Only then, does the person being challenged consider allowing their very foundation to be altered.

At the most basic level, individuals must work interdependently with others at the level of all relationships; whether marriages, friendships, or business partnerships. All partners surely quarrel, even occasionally with truculent discussions. They may discuss issues that are controversial in their own relationship but seem benign to the outside world. Having children, owning pets, and allocating finances are all exemplars of common arguments within relationships. How would any marriage exist if not for discussion of these topics? Ignorance is only bliss to an extent and, eventually, people must discuss the topics which bother them in order to live a happier life. Even if the only change they have to their core beliefs is understanding the other person's point of view, this creates a better understanding and improves the relationship between two people.

The argument that communication, especially difficult communication, is imperative, can further be bolstered by the topic of inventions and technology. A business relationship is just that: a relationship. One which requires work, communication and understanding. Without Wozniack, Jobs' name and face wouldn't be nearly as recognizable. Anyone with any insight into Apple knows that Steve Jobs did not engender the company on his own. This required the two founders to have a relationship, no matter how turbulent, in order to be successful. This can only be performed by discussing the difficult topics and coming to a mutual understanding regarding their conclusions. Even if two business partners are not entirely espoused, the benefits reaped by both working together are undeniable.

Wars, ephemeral and seemingly unending ones alike, have been fought between men that have refused to listen to one another. Death, starvation, and economic ruin are among the horrid consequences created by refusing to understand, to change one's beliefs. So many lives have been saved by world leaders coming together, having a difficult discussion, and working together towards a beneficial outcome for both. This is the way to peace and understanding. This has been demonstrated by many individuals throughout history. Nelson Mandela is a wonderful and sanguine example of avoiding war and despair through understanding and allowing his core beliefs to be challenged, as well as challenging the core beliefs of others.

The questioning of core beliefs is undoubtedly a difficult, although necessary, topic to discuss. These uncomfortable and challenging conversations are imperative not only between individuals but between business empires, countries, and the world as a whole in order to preserve our integrity as human beings.