Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems.

Perhaps the primary goal of technology is to eradicate problems faced by the citizens of today. For example, the creation of the internal combustion engine allowed people to drastically alter the way they commute, travel, and, ultimately, live. This invention revolutionized life as we knew it and solved a cornucopia of logistical problems, allowing more time for further endeavors. However, in the case of the automobile, and many other inventions, science and technology has helped to overcome many problems previously considered insurmountable by the human race.

While the benefits of technology and science are irrefutable, they have left considerably negative implications in their wake. Perhaps the most significant unintended consequence of the invention of the automobile, for example, is the accumulation of greenhouse gases. The scientists of the late 19th century could not have been aware of the adverse effects their invention would engender almost 150 years later. However, today climate change is perhaps one of the most passionately argued topics in today's news, politics, and daily conversation. Does this mean Otto and Lenoir should have never conceived the idea of the internal combustion engine? I think most would argue that the answer to that question is "no."

The automobile is not the only example that supports this argument. Throughout history, the creation of new technology has caused unintended consequences. New chemical processes that were initially discovered and applied to create new medicine or industrial processes, were later used to attack and destroy the very scientists that discovered them. In turn, more futuristic, destructive weapons were created in an attempt to negate the devastating effects of the weapons that came before them. Very frequently, new discoveries and inventions create unintended consequences that must then be alleviated by new scientists and technology.

Because it almost universally creates new complications after solving old ones, science will never be able to solve all of society's problems. Techonology is simply unable to anticipate the aftermath of the butterfly effect in which it enacts. This results in an unceasing ripple of events that can never be predicted, and therefore, must be solved as they occur by the scientists of tomorrow.