Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

There are several holes in the theory that chronic illnesses are cured by the Paleo diet, as asserted by the passage. The argument is rife with vague assumptions and claims which it fails to bolster. While the Paleo diet may bring some benefits that would otherwise not be realized, it is absurd to think that ancient humans were able to practice medicine more efficiently than ourselves.

Firstly, the text reports that "proponents" have made claims regarding our bodies and how they have evolved to eat food such as bone broths. However, there are no credentials assigned to these proponents and it can not be assumed that they are scientists or experts in the field. They are just as likely to be English Literature majors from a local community college. Unless the mentioned proponents have vast expertise and authority in the field of physiology or medicine, their claims hold very little weight and can not be taken as gospel.

The argument itself uses the phrase 'anecdotal evidence' which in and of itself is an oxymoron. The term 'anecdotal' refers to personal accounts rather than science-based research which is typically associated with the term 'evidence.' The association between bone broth consumption and disease can not be determined, as argued by the essay, due to the lack of information about the results. There is no claim as to how the results were obtained, and thus, they can not be trusted. The text does not specify whether or not other supplements and medications were being taken for the underlying diseases which could be the actual alleviating factor, rather than the bone broth.

In the days of our ancestors, food was not as readily available as it is today. Just walking into our kitchens and opening our pantries reveals a cornucopia that would be unfathomable by our ancestors. In all actuality, early hominids most likely ate what was available to them. No meal was guaranteed, and every part of a kill had to be utilized to ensure survival. This is paramount to disputing the claim that our ancestors were more knowledgable about physiology, as they were required to eat any and everything that they could.

The essay also fails to mention the extent of metabolic or inflammatory disease frequency in early hominids. There are no claims alluding to evidence that our ancestors actually had less disease, let alone that fact being due to their diet.

Due to the lack of evidence, past disease rates, controlled studies, and expertise from authorities in the field, it can not be concluded that paleo diets, however primitive, resulted in fewer instances of inflammatory or metabolic disease.