Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly

The petition submitted to the city council mentions about the increased cases of the sidewalk rage in Centerville and suggests the banning of cellphone use while walking on the sidewalk as an effective solution by taking example of similar cellphone ban results, in Middletown. Though the argument may seem valid but it stands on various assumptions as described below.

Firstly, the sidewalk infrastructure of Middletown and Centerville may not be closely comparable and hence solving a problem related to Centerville based on the results of a similar resolution of Middletown may not be a great idea. For instance, if the Centerville has an uneven or hilly terran and pedestrians on the sidewalk need to walk upwards which makes them tired and cause anger issues due to the exertion, causing more sidewalk rage. Then, in such a case banning of cellphone may have little to no impact on improving the situation. Therefore, a complete evaluation of the sidewalk's infrastructure and width needs to be conducted in order to physically compare it with Middletown sidewalks.

Further, the petition assumes that the people in Middletown and Centerville have similar kind of temprament causing them to involve in sidewalk rage for similar reasons. Whereas it is possible that the Centerville is actually a city where people are relativly short tempered due to day to day stress, on the other hand, Middeltown is a village where people are relatively easy going and involve in any verbal fight due to few other reasons. Along with this usual temprament difference in people there can be other reasons too such as people in Centerville usually use sidewalk while rushing towards work whereas in Middletown people use sidewalk for going to the beach, which accounts to the obvious difference in moods in two locations leading to differences in reasons for sidewalk rage. If this is actually the case then Middletown may have less problems causing sidewalk rage and only banning cellphones provided an easy solution, but Centerville may have several other problems related to walker's phsycologically which is actually causing the brawls and banning cellphones may not even reduce such cases.

Lastly, weather conditions in Centerville need to be taken into account before comparing it to the Middletown's climate. This is because it is completely possible that Middletown remains pleasent in terms of weather throughout the year whereas Centerville has extreme weather conditions such as snow, rain or scroching heat during the summers. For example, in Centerville people are mostly outraged while walking on the sidewalks because they usually have to rush through the rain or sweaty humidity. Therefore, a study needs to be conducted to observe in which weather people are getting involved in fights on the side walks and is weather the reason for their fights somehow in Centerville because if that is the case then banning cellphones are of no use.

In conclusion, there can be several reasons as to why people in Centerville are getting involved in sidewalk rage and a survey needs to be conducted and data needs to be presented preferably in the form of a systematic study before making any decision regarding this issue. Otherwise, banning cellphones may lead to even increased cases of sidewalk rage due to increased personal contact between people while walking, causing them getting involved in more fights.