In twenty years there will be less cars in use than there are today

Cars have been a part of our lives for many decades as it was an outstanding invention which kept its spark alive for many generations. But as the times are changing, people are thinking about better alternatives. I agree that in twenty years from now, there will be fewer cars than today due to following three reasons.

Firstly, people these days are more aware about global warming. The negative effects of fuel consumption on environment have been studied over the years; looking at various research data it can be concluded that burning fossil fuel in vehicles need to be replaced with much sustainable alternative. Hence, the governments of various countries today are stressing more on electric cars as well as green gases, that can be used in place of fuels. But using such alternatives is becoming difficult because generating electricity and other kind of energy resources for cars also require processes that involve environmental degradation to some point. Therefore, reducing number of cars is the most feasible solution to a slew of environmental problems. For instance, Delhi government came out with a solution of this problem and implemented a new law; the 'Odd Even Law'. This law allowed only cars with odd number plates to be used on odd number of date and vice versa for cars with even number of plates. This law significantly reduced the total number of cars on the roads leading to a decrease in air pollution.

Furthermore, as the population is increasing gradually, traffic on roads is becoming a problem. For instance, a person who needs to leave for office prefers to travel with their own car; single person travelling with a car having four seats requires more space on roads. This type of commute is causing accumulation of more number of vehicles on roads leading to increased traffic. To tackle this problem many governments are encouraging cab services that charge minimal amount of money to drop people to offices. This way people do not have to drive themselves to offices everyday and it also helps in decreasing the traffic on roads.

Lastly, many people do not prefer driving on their on everyday to work. This is because they feel that driving everyday is stressful and tiring. Grabbing this problem as an opportunity, many cab companies offer coupons if the travel is towards the workplace. Hence, people get discounts when they travel to their workplace and it allows them to travel by cabs or busses more frequently. Most of the professional do not consider buying a car a goof financial decision as its value decreases over time and hence they invest their money in other ventures. Also, the improving connectivity of local transportation in almost all the cities now days do not leave any need to own a car.

In conclusion, as buying a car is becoming less attractive for the customers in current times, both financially or concerning environmental issues, less people are interested in owning their own vehicle these days.