The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum from the business manager of a television station, it is stated that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level, will attract more viewers to the program as well as improve the revenue from advertising. The manager has come to this conclusion based on the assumption that viewers complaints about insufficient coverage of weather and local news is specifically for the late night news program and advertisers canceling the contract is solely due to less time for weather and local news in late night news program. However, before this argument can be properly evaluated, three specific evidences must be warranted.

Firstly, the manager assumes that complaints received by the viewers were specifically regarding the late night news program. News might be broadcast-ed multiple times over the day and perhaps these complaints are about some other time period of news program and not necessarily late night news program. Maybe viewers wish to know about local and weather news in the morning time and about national news in late night before retiring to bed. Manager has to provide more specific evidence regarding the program timing for the complaints from viewers else the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, it is assumed that advertising contracts are cancelled due to less time to weather and local news in late night program. Perhaps, the advertisers cancelled due to a controversy in the content of the program broadcast-ed or maybe due to insufficient funds. The cancellation could also be a result of contentious business relationship with the broadcasting company. There are plethora of reasons for advertisement cancellation and narrowing it down to insufficient coverage for news and weather without any proper evidence will considerably weaken the argument.

Thirdly, it is assumed that the late night program is deliberately allocating less time for weather and local news compared to national news. Perhaps, in the past year there have been many pressing national events occurring compared to the local events, which needs more coverage and attention. Thus, increasing the time for local news and weather at the expense of cutting down the pith content of national news, might languish the number of viewers and advertisers. If the above is proven to be true with evidence, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the manager is able to provide more evidence for the assumptions stated above (perhaps in the form of systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to devote more time for weather and local news in late night program.